Labour Party Conference 2016: Our Delegate’s Report

First of all, thank you to the General Committee members who nominated me to be their delegate for the Labour Party conference in September. May I also take this opportunity to thank Pete Lowe and Geoff Dixon for looking after me and guiding me through conference.

As your delegate I attended the leadership announcement on Saturday and met Dennis Skinner MP. I spent some time meeting other delegates and trade unionists to talk about disability issues. I also listened to Andy Burnham’s speech and Tom Watson’s speech – both were inspirational.

Outside of conference I attended two fringe meetings – ‘Disability in the Workplace’ and ‘Opening up your CLP to Disabled Members’. Both fringe events were chaired by my good friend Dave Allan from Disability Labour. I attended Red Wedge with Anna Joy Jones and Peter Jenner, former manager of Pink Floyd and Billy Bragg. I also went to the Labour Animal Welfare Society karaoke with Pete, Geoff and Ellen and Rachel Cobb. A good night was had by all!

Jeremy Corbyn’s speech on Wednesday was excellent. It inspired me to get campaigning and to make the key points to our voters, and I returned to Stourbridge with a spring in my step.

– Craig Greenwell, Stourbridge CLP disability officer and delegate to conference.

Author: Stourbridge Labour

Stourbridge CLP

Leave a Reply

